ERROR: Macro SetGlobalVars is missing! ERROR: Macro SetGlobalVars is missing! Scott joins Green Tree in Act 32 proceedings | The Almanac

By Terry Kish

For The Almanac

In an 8-0 vote at the March 26 regular meeting, Scott commissioners voted to join Green Tree Borough in its legal proceedings to obtain earned income tax records in accordance with Act 32. Scott agreed to split the legal fees equally, not to exceed 50 hours. Commissioner David Jason was absent, due to illness.

Scott manager Denise Fitzgerald said that she knew of other communities that were also considering joining in the legal action.

Act 32 of 2008, which split Allegheny County into four taxing districts, requires uniform withholding of earned income taxes (EIT) and remittance to a single local collector or Tax Officer.

At the same meeting, Jane Sorcan, Scott Conservancy Treasurer, told the Scott Township commissioners that she would be working with ReEnergize Pgh this year to help residents find ways to reduce their energy usage. Sorcan said she would attend various township events like Safety Day and the municipality’s annual July 4th celebration to speak with residents and answer questions. In addition, Sorcan plans to have an energy audit done at her home; residents will be able to attend to see what is done during the audit.

“Reducing energy usage is good for the environment and for the pocketbook,” said Sorcan. “It benefits everyone.”

According to the gtech website (, “ReEnergize Pgh is a regional sustainable economic development strategy focusing on using residential energy efficiency upgrades on a large scale to improve air quality through decreased energy use and to advance a robust local energy efficiency industry by upgrading clusters of targeted buildings and homes.”

In other business, the board:

• Ratified the agreement with Teamsters Local 249 (public works), effective Jan. 1, 2012, and expiring Dec. 31, 2015. The new agreement provides for a three percent wage increase each year. Board president Tom Castello commented that he was “very happy” an agreement had been reached.

• Voted to promote patrolman James Stoker to sergeant, with a one year probation period. Stoker is expected to be sworn in as sergeant at the board’s April 9 agenda meeting.

• Voted to appoint Laurie Brant, Andrea Wachter, Mark Moore, Sandra Calgaro, and Louis Calgaro to the Scott Library Board of Directors.

• Voted to reappoint Charles Edeburn, David Seybert, Frank Bruckner, Dan Losego, and Brandon Dukes to the zoning hearing board; Ralph J. Murovich, Mark Mox, John Remensky, Kenneth Lee, and William Quinn to the planning commission; and Michael J. Finnerty to the civil service board.

ERROR: Macro /top/registrationTop is missing!