All-star game features local skaters

Published Feb 6, 2013 at 11:36 am (Updated Feb 6, 2013 at 11:36 am)

The Pennsylvania Interscholastic Hockey League will host its all-star games Feb. 10 at the Robert Morris University’s Island Sports Center, located on Neville Island.

Action kicks off at 11 a.m. with the Open Class division followed in succession by the Class A contest at 1 p.m. and the Class AA game at 3 p.m. The Class AAA game caps the competition at 5 p.m.

The skills of 14 area players, plus one alternate and one coach, will be showcased in the Class AAA battle pitting the Southwest Conference against the Northeast Conference.

Bethel Park skipper Jim McVay hopes to coach the Southwest to victory along with his assistants Jim Black from North Allegheny and Anthony Raco from Seneca Valley.

While Mt. Lebanon’s Nick Honkala is an alternate, Bethel Park’s Derek Lesnak and Austin Jameyson along with Peters Township’s Brad Tylenda and Upper St. Clair’s Sean Allebrand spearhead the defense.

Mike Ambrose, a senior from Upper St. Clair, and Brian Baker, a Peters Township junior, share the goaltending duties with SV’s Tanner Pfeffer.

BP headlines the forward line with three representatives in Ryan Kusmira, Daniel Yost and Christian Siak.

Canon-Mac and USC follow with two selection each. Blair Oldaker and Stephen Sramac excel for the Big Macs while Austin Cassidy and Connor Ackerman shine at USC.

Stephen Sramac of Mt. Lebanon is the other area forward named to the Southwest squad.

The Big Macs, who field two varsity teams in the PIHL, will also have three representatives on the Southwest squad in the Open Division. They are forwards Shane Morgan and Nick Green as well as defenseman Ryan Ferguson.

Ryan Ribeau and Ryan Rosato, seniors from Keystone Oaks will play on the forward line for the Northeast Conference club in the Open Division.

Chartiers Valley and Bishop Canevin are well represented on the Southwest unit for the Class AA clash against the Northeast.

In addition to boasting the squad’s head coach with Seaan Biancaniello at the helm, the Colts comprise two slots at forward in Cullen McMahon and Anthony Franks, two spots on defense in Sean Brkovich and Tyler Stevenson, one goalie in Noah Stevenson and an alternate in Robert Ferrarri.

Among the all-stars for the Crusaders are: forward Austin Large, defenseman Brennen Adams and goaltender Nikita Meskin.

At the Class A level Joe Testa and Ryan Schultz were selected as all-star forwards from South Fayette. South Park earned three all-stars in forward Bill Walker, defenseman Cam Sabatini and alternate Josh Smith. Brandon Tingle coaches the squad.

Visit for a complete roster of all the all-stars.

comments powered by Disqus