PIHL announces all-stars

Published Jan 16, 2014 at 11:03 am (Updated Jan 16, 2014 at 11:03 am)

The Pennsylvania Interscholastic Hockey League will host its annual all-star event Feb. 9 at the Robert Morris University Island Sports Center. The Northeast Conference will battle the Southwest Conference in four games featuring the top players from each classification.

The Class AAA contest begins at 5 p.m.

Chris Siak headlines the list of players on the Class AAA roster. The PIHL Player of the Month for December has propelled Bethel Park to the top of the standings with Peters Township. Both teams are 10-2 in the conference.

Siak ranks second in the league in scoring with 22 goals and 10 assists for 32 points. He scored once and dished up two assists in BP’s recent win over Seneca Valley, 4-2.

Derek Lesnak joins Siak on the forward line. The senior leads the Black Hawks with 18 assists, including one against the Raiders.

Other Hawks on the all-star roster include: senior forward Jake Worcester and defender Nick Konyk. Zach Davis was selected as an alternate.

BP skipper Jim McVay will assist Peters Township’s Rick Tingle with the coaching duties along with Jim Black from North Allegheny and Anthony Racco from Seneca Valley.

Some of Tingle’s top players headline PT’s all-star choices. Among them are: forwards Evan Opeka and Jon Dagnal, defender Joe Kittleberger and goaltender Brian Baker. All are seniors.

Opeka has produced seven goals and two assists while Dagnal has provided five tallies and three assists for the Indians. Kittleberger has chipped in two goals and produced six assists. Baker ranks among the top netminders in the league with his .926 save percentage and 2.13 goals-against average.

Upper St. Clair and Mt. Lebanon, which battle at 8:40 p.m. Jan. 23 at Ice Castle, gained five spots on the all-star roster.

In addition to alternate, Kasey Colcombe, Austin Cassidy and Matt Woomer will skate for the Panthers. Cassidy leads USC with 16 goals and 24 points. Woomer anchors the team’s defense. In addition to alternate, Reed Farber, Steve Sramac, a senior forward, will represent Lebo.

Defender Garrett Woznichak joins the one-two punch of J.D. Oddi and Austin Tonkovich as Canon-McMillan’s all-star representatives. Oddi leads the club in goals while Tonkovich is tops in assists.

The Class AA starts at 3 p.m. Chartiers Valley and Bishop Canevin are well represented with nine all-star picks.

Cullen McMahon and Anthony Franks are the playmakers for the Colts, leading the team in goals and assists respectively. Tyler Stevenson plays defense while Alex Chabala was selected as an alternate.

For the Crusaders, Randy Unger, Garrett Godlewski and Blaine Adams headline the forward line of all-stars. Unger has scored 14 goals and racked up 27 assists. Godlweski has 14 tallies and 11 assists while Adams has 24 points with 13 goals and 11 assists. Brennen Adams is a defender, who has dished up 10 assists this season. Meanwhile Nikita Meskin ranks among the top goalies in the league with a .915 save percentage and a 2.13 GAA.

South Fayette’s skipper Frank Certo will help coach the Class A clash, which has a 1 p.m. start. Two Lions join Certo on the bench. Jordan Timmons will play on the forward line while Anthony Vallelunga will play defense.

South Park will be represented in the Class A all-star game by Tanner Orr, Kirk Zandier, Tyler Gerhold as well as alternates Mclean Walton and Allie Sabatini.

The Open Class contest kicks off the action at 11 a.m.

Kelson Pizzuti and Caden Shell represent Peters Township. Pizzuti is a forward while Shell is a sophomore goalie.

comments powered by Disqus