4 area players honored

Published Apr 22, 2014 at 12:01 am (Updated Apr 23, 2014 at 11:08 am)

Football all-stars

Four senior football players from the South Hills have been selected to participate in the Pennsylvania Scholastic Football Coaches Association’s East-West All-Star game set for 2 p.m. May 4 at Franklin Regional High School stadium.

Justin Watson from South Fayette headlines the list. The 6-3, 195-pound wide receiver earned Almanac MVP honors with Brett Brumbaugh after leading the Lions to a WPIAL championship and their first state title in school history. South Fayette finished 16-0 last fall.

Joining Watson on the West roster are Quad-A products Ryan Sosnak from Bethel Park and Robert Plummer from Upper St. Clair. Sosnak is a 6-3, 290-pound offensive lineman while Plummer is a 6-0, 225-pound defensive end. Both were Southwestern Conference all-stars. Plummer anchored a defensive unit that posted six shutouts. Sosnak started on the offensive line for the Hawks, who finished 6-2 in the conference.

Miles Williamson from Chartiers-Houston completes the local flavor on the West roster. A wide receiver, he earned all-conference honors three years in a row.

Hoops for A Cure

The 19th annual Hoops For A Cure fund-raising event will be held April 26 at the Chartiers Valley High School gymnasium. The all-star basketball extravaganza benefits the Nathan S. Arenson Fund for Pancreatic Cancer Research.

The event includes four all-star games featuring some of the finest boys’ and girls’ basketball players in the WPIAL. Action begins at 3 p.m. with Class A vs. Class AA in girls’ play and concludes with the Quad-A battle at 7:30 p.m.

Area male athletes participating include: J.J. Conn from Upper St. Clair, Josh Krafcynzski of Bethel Park, Jerrad Tuite from Chartiers Valley, Dale Clancy and Levi Masua from Seton-La Salle, Miles Williamson and Kodie Hanley from Chartiers-Houston.

Headlining the girls’ squads are: Naje Gibson and Yacine Diop from Seton-La Salle, Johnie Olkosky from Bishop Canevin, Addy Knetzer from Chartiers-Houston, Maryssa Agurs of Keystone Oaks, Megan Marecic, and Harper Zimmer of Bethel Park, Olivia Lorusso from Canon-McMillan, Lauren Herron, Kristen McGeough and Jenna Devinney from CV as well as Christine Ehland and Margie McCaffrey from Mt. Lebanon.

comments powered by Disqus