South Fayette captures WPIAL track title

Published May 13, 2014 at 3:12 pm (Updated May 13, 2014 at 3:12 pm)

South Fayette captured its second straight WPIAL Class AA girls’ team track title while the Mt. Lebanon boys’ finished as runners-up in the Class AAA team competition held May 12 at Baldwin High School track.

Hempfield won the girls’ AAA crown. The Spartans won their third consecutive championship in commanding fashion against North Allegheny, 92-50, Mt. Lebanon, 99-50, and Shaler, 121-28. They won 10 of 18 events.

The Lady Lions were nearly as dominant, winning eight events. South Fayette defeated Beaver (82-68), Freeport (98-52) and Mohawk (101-49).

Natalie Hilton (1,600, 3,200), Nicole Egan (long jump, high jump) and Amanda Oliver (100, 400-meter relay) claimed double wins for the Lady Lions. Carly Evanish won the triple jump.

South Fayette also won the 3,200 relay with Hannah Kenawell, Morgan Gimigliano, Sydney Lerda and Allison Gates.

Egan, Rachel Schuman, Nikki Molinaro and Oliver comprised the 400 relay.

Oliver, who finished first in the 100 dash with a 12.68 time, followed with a second-place showing in the 200 with a 26.26 mark.

While Graysen Molinaro secured second in the shot put, Bri Rees took second in the 400 run.

Tori Valachovic set a personal record in placing second in the high hurdles with a 15.77 time. She also took third in the intermediate hurdles.

The team title was a parting gift of sorts for the Lady Lions, who move up to Class AA next year, and their head coach, Joe Winans, who is resigning after the season.

“It’s nice to see the program replenish itself with talented kids,” said Winans. “This bodes well from them making a smooth transition [to AAA]. You want to be mentioned with programs like Baldwin, Mt. Lebanon and North Allegheny. With the success we’re having, the program is earning respect.”

Meanwhile the Class AAA competition was decided in the final event. With second and third places in the pole vault, NA edged Lebo, 76.5 to 73.5, to take the boys’ title. Canon-McMillan followed in third place.

One of the highlights for the Big Macs was their victory in the 3,200 relay event. Ethan Linderman, Cody Shock, Caden Meier and Michael Strosko comprised the foursome. Alec Rideout won the discus.

NOTE: The WPIAL individual championships will be held May 16 at Baldwin High School track.

comments powered by Disqus